Getting followers on Instagram is one thing, and retaining them is another thing altogether. One of the ways you lose followers is via getting blocked by those following you. There are different reasons why a user can choose to block you. Some block you because they feel you are spamming them while others block you because they don’t need to see your content on their timeline anymore.

Whatever the reason, you might be wondering whether the person blocked you or simply shut down the account. This is why we look at the different ways on how to know if someone blocked you on Instagram.

The Steps

First, you need to open the app, and then type in the search bar the name of the person who you suspect to have blocked you. When you find the person, clock on his profile name. If the person hasn’t blocked you, then you will be able to see his pictures without any issue. But if the person has blocked you, then you won’t be able to see the pictures. He might have blocked you or deactivated his account.

If the person you suspect to have blocked you are running a public account, you will be able to find the name of the user in the search results, but you still won’t be able to see the pictures though the top bar might indicate that the user has pictures in their profile.

There are a few apps that you can use to confirm whether you have been blocked or not. These tools help you know who has unfollowed you, which usually happens when you get blocked.

What if the user has a private account? Well, when this happens, you won’t be able to see the user in the search list even though you search for the name. You won’t have a chance to find them at all.

If you still doubt, you can use a friend’s Instagram account to confirm if you have been blocked. If you see the user in the search results, and you can check out their posts from your friend’s account, then you have been blocked.

What This Implies

First, getting blocked means you lose a follower. The level of engagement also goes down due to fewer people on your account. You won’t be able to communicate with the person that has blocked you, even through direct messaging. Moreover, you won’t even know that the user has read your message at all.